top of page

EYFS Curriculum

What will my child learn in EYFS?


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.


The Characteristics

Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’

Active learning – children concentrate and persevere if they encounter difficulties, and celebrate their achievements

Creating and thinking critically – children develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things


Prime Areas
The three prime areas begin to develop rapidly in response to the relationships and experiences the  children receive. They are fundamental throughout the early years journey!

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves, and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups, and to have confidence in their own abilities.


Specific Areas
The four specific areas include essential skills and knowledge children will need for their whole school journey. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems, and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in Art, Music, Movement, Dance, Role-play, and Design and Technology.

Forest School 

Forest School begins in the Early Years and at Lanesfield we love accessing the outdoors! 

We give the children the opportunity to independently access the outdoor environment on a daily basis. In addition to this, the children have the opportunity to access our own Forest School area in groups on the school grounds, supported by Forest School trained staff. 

The concept of Forest School, developed in Scandinavia takes learning outdoors, whatever the weather, helping children became resilient, confident and independent learners.

Forest School in Early Years is led by the interests of the learners and helps to develop their cultural capital through first-hand experiences. Forest school activities may also be planned around the key texts being used within EYFS. 

bottom of page